Diva Challenge #123 – Look – No Tangles!

At first I was totally daunted by this week’s challenge.

But then I thought about it a little.
Then thought a little more.
And started to feel excited.

Let me explain: the brief was to draw a tile without using any existing tangles or any variations of any known patterns (AKA tanglelations…if I got that right…??! I am still learning Zentangle jargon – bear with me).

Impossible!” was my initial reaction… “I can never do that, I’ve got no tangles of my own”…. *panic*

But after I had drawn my string, it gradually dawned on me that being ‘banned’ from using anything ‘known’ might actually open up a whole new realm of possibilities, but ones that could only be explored once the door to anything familiar was firmly closed.

There’s a quote that goes something like this:
“You cannot discover new oceans unless you have the courage to lose sight of the shore.”

I do believe leaving the shore did me good today.

The ocean looked scary at first – but once I was on it, it turned out to be a rather pleasant, fun day out!

At least a couple of new tangles were born in the process too. And my pesky little Dandy seeds are back. I’d call that a win-win situation, wouldn’t you?

20130619-085929.jpg

16 thoughts on “Diva Challenge #123 – Look – No Tangles!

  1. I love the birds and the fact that you used color for this week’s challenge. I used color and was very nervous no one else would. I like that your entry is bright and cheerful!

Leave a Reply

